Stop to smell the roses

March 10, 2011 § 2 Comments

This morning I was looking out of the living room window at the flowers starting to bloom.  I smiled as it reminded me of a time when my son was completely obsessed with flowers. He was around 18 months old when the obsession began, and if memory serves me right, there wasn’t a flower he didn’t want to smell. As we would head to the park, he would insist I stop the stroller at every colorful bloom. I recall it seeming as though it took forever to get to our destination because he always wanted to touch, feel and sometimes pick the flowers we encountered. He literally stopped to smell the roses. At the time, I remember wondering why I hadn’t stopped to smell the roses before. I had walked by those roses plenty of times and never gave it a thought. I quickly came to realize that as we go through our busy lives, it becomes so easy to look beyond the beautiful things around us. That they can become almost invisible to us over time. Which made me think, we should all take notes from my son and stop to smell the roses. We need to open our eyes and learn to acknowledge and appreciate the beauty of flowers; but most importantly, we should appreciate the beauty in our lives.  Take it in.  Take it all in and enjoy it. 

So today, after reading this and seeing the flowers starting to bloom outside your own window…stop and smell them.  Appreciate them and all the beauty they bring.  I truly believe you will be happy you did.

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to Stop to smell the roses

  • mandy says:

    thanks for the reminder! the carolina jasmine growing all over the front of my house is covered with bright yellow blossoms right now and i was just thinking yesterday that i need to take a picture; its gorgeous! i, too, need to take the time to “smell the roses” and reflect on all the beauty in my life (like the two little loves sitting on the couch next to me right now)!

  • Trisha says:

    I think this is my favorite post of all! We truly don’t appreciate the small things enough. It is like our health we don’t appreciate it until we have to function with a cold, or we complain about our job until we don’t have one. It really makes you appreciate things around you and all aspects of your life. I wish something was blooming up here, but all that is blooming is dark clouds of rain.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Stop to smell the roses at Rhelda's Recipe.

meta

