Biscuits Galore

March 25, 2011 § 3 Comments

I am a complete sucker for a good biscuit.  I could be stuffed to the brim with food, but still have room for just one more biscuit.  I love all kinds of biscuits.  I certainly do not discriminate. 

My love of biscuits came at an early age.  I remember being a kid (10 or so) and deciding that I was going to “help mom” by making biscuits for dinner.  I didn’t want any help, knowing that I could make them completely on my own.  I went by the book.  Followed the recipe to a T (or so I thought).  I cut them out and baked them, but noticed something oddly different when taking them out of the oven.  They didn’t look the same as the one’s my mom had previously made.  They weren’t light.  They weren’t fluffy.  What was going on?  With a bit of detective work, we discovered I had forgotten one key ingredient…baking powder.  So instead of having light, fluffy, flaky biscuits, they baked up like hockey pucks.  They were hard as rocks.  My first baking experience on my own was an utter flop.  I was so disappointed.   You could even say devastated at the outcome, but the most wonderful thing happened.  At dinner, my dad ate at least 2 of them and told me they were just as good as any biscuit he had ever eaten. 🙂

I have never made that mistake again and even think that I’ve gotten biscuit making down to a science.  My latest and greatest biscuit version is the cheddar biscuit.  Here’s the recipe.  Oh, and remember not to forget the baking powder or you’ll have to call my dad over to eat them!  Love you, Dad!

Cheddar Biscuits

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon BAKING POWDER
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 stick of butter, cold and cut into pieces
  • 2 oz. grated cheddar cheese 
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • ground pepper, optional

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.  In a bowl, combine the flour, baking powder, sugar, cream of tartar, and salt.  Add the butter and cut it into the flour with a pastry cutter.  If you don’t have a pastry cutter, you can use a fork or your hands.  Work the combination until it resembles course crumbs.  At this point, add in the cheddar cheese.  Mix to distribute.  Now add the milk.  Mix only until you see the flour moisten and come together.  You don’t want to over mix, otherwise your biscuits will come out tough instead of light and fluffy.  Turn dough out onto floured surface.  Form dough together (without kneading too much) into a ball.  Roll dough out to about 1/2 inch thick.  Use a biscuit cutter to cut out biscuits.  Place on an ungreased baking sheet.  At this point you can brush the top of each biscuit with milk and add a sprinkle of ground pepper to each.  This is optional.  Do this step only it if it sounds tasty and appealing to you.   I like it, but it isn’t for everyone.  Now, bake in oven for 10 – 12 minutes.  Should make around 10 biscuits.  ALWAYS serve hot or at least warm.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Biscuits Galore

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Biscuits Galore at Rhelda's Recipe.

meta

