That “Dirty” Word

April 6, 2011 § Leave a comment

Now that I have your attention, I thought I’d discuss that “dirty” word.  You know…the word no one wants to address.  You think if you ignore it then the problem miraculously goes away.  But, it doesn’t.  It can even wreak havoc on your life and if you don’t have it, getting it can seem overwhelming.  I’m talking about…ORGANIZATION.  Isn’t that what you were thinking?  Okay, maybe it isn’t as “dirty” as it is “messy”, but I liked the title with dirty better.

Everyone hopes that one day the linen closet will fold itself or the medicine cabinet will automatically dispose of all the medications that expired 5 years ago.  The unfortunate reality is…we don’t have the desire or, in many cases, time to organize.     If you are like me, you probably have a place for everything, but finding it within that place can be somewhat of a challenge.  I think most of us fall into the category of “somewhat organized”.  I fall into this category more often than not; however, there is one place in my home that is organized to the nth degree.  Where you ask?  Where it matters most to many woman…my shoes!  Who cares if my son can’t find his underwear or shoes.  I can find my Kate Spade Espadrilles in less than a second.  Now that’s organized. 🙂

Because my friends constantly are shocked at my shoe organization, I figured it should be something to share with everyone. It really is easy to do. Really!!  All you need is a camera, bins, a good size closet and some extra time.

Step 1 – Go through your shoes.  Get rid of shoes that are out of date, worn out or broken.  If they are a great quality shoe and you think they can be repaired and are still in style, take them to a shoe repair to see if the cost of fixing them is worth it.

Step 2 – Now that you’ve weened out the old, count the pairs of shoes you have.  Head to the store for bins.  Buy one bin for each pair of shoes you want to store.  It is almost impossible to put 2 pairs in each bin unless they are flip-flops.  Boots will need a longer/bigger bin.  You should be able to store more than 1 pair of boots per bin.  I think I store 2-3 pair of boots per bin but will depend on the size of bin you buy for them.   The small bins will typically range in price from .99 cents to $2.99.  You might want to shop around for the best bin price, if you have a lot of shoes.  I’ve seen them at target, walmart and the container store.

Step 3 – Take a picture of each pair of shoes.   I’ve photographed them in various ways over the years, as you can see.  I think I prefer to have both shoes in the picture.  One laying on its side and the other on its sole (see picture below).  This way you remember what they look like from different angles.

Step 4 – Print the pictures.  I have put them into a collage and then cut them out so the picture come out 2 1/2″ wide x 1 1/2″ tall.  I’ve also printed them as 3 1/2″ x 5″ and cut them to fit on the box.  Do what is easy and works for you.

Step 5 – Tape them onto boxes using clear packing tape.  This tape will secure the picture onto the box.  With this tape, the picture won’t come off until you take it off.

Step 6 – Insert shoe into box and store wherever you have the space.  You can color coordinate them,  store them by season or style.  It is up to you.

PLEASE NOTE:  I started this when I had time (before kid), so just know I don’t expect any of you to following in my footsteps unless you really feel the urge.  It is a great way to keep track of your shoes and keep them in good condition.  If you do decide to do it, I want you to know that you will love it.  I do.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading That “Dirty” Word at Rhelda's Recipe.

meta

