Jumping in with both feet

April 20, 2011 § 4 Comments

I’ve had the unbelievable opportunity to be able to be a stay-at-home Mom for a couple of years now.  I have (without a doubt) loved every minute of it.  But alas, as all good things do, this precious time will soon be ending.  Due to many circumstances beyond our control, I am going back to working at a job outside the home.   In a twist of fate, my husband will soon be taking on my role and responsibilities as a stay-at-home Dad.  We are both embracing this soon-to-be transition and are committed to jumping in with both feet

One of the home responsibilities he will be taking on is cooking the family dinner.  We are old school in tradition.   Our family sits down and eats a home cooked meal almost every night.  It is our time together after a busy day of crazy schedules.  We love this time and truly cherish it. 

Last weekend was my husband’s first opportunity to show off his cooking skills.  For a man who had only cooked a handful of items in the past, he rose to the challenge and didn’t disappoint.  Sunday morning, I ran to the store and picked up dinner items I knew were easy to fix.  Timing is a big trick to cooking.  It can be a challenge to get everything on the table, hot and ready to eat all at the same time.  The outcome after his efforts – an amazing meal.  The table was set with beautiful tulips.  Everything was cooked perfectly and tasted like he’d made this meal a hundred times before.  I would have never guessed this was his first time.  I only gave him quick instructions for each item, he did all the rest himself.  He has talents I never knew existed.

I’m looking forward to many more “meals a la Brian”.  I’m thinking BBQ’d ribs…

 

Brian’s Menu

Grilled Chicken Breast with a sweet dijon marinade

Grilled Adelle chicken apple sausage

Baby red potatoes oven roasted with extra virgin olive oil and seasoning

Tomato, Basil and mozzarella salad dressed with extra virgin olive oil

Artichokes cooked in seasoned water and served with mayo

Note: All recipes available upon request.  E-mail me at rheldasrecipe@aol.com for info.

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Jumping in with both feet

  • Grahams Dad says:

    Am grateful to learn from the master. We are only as good as those that teach us the lessons. xooxoxoxo

  • Sue Estenson says:

    Good job Brian! Rhelda, I just loved reading this. So glad you two are making the very best of your situation. This is a great example for Graham.

  • Tanya says:

    Wow! Good job Brian! Can you give Chad some lessons?? 🙂

    • Tracy says:

      I am impressed! Gooooo Brian!
      This warms my heart. Love you guys so much! I know you will both be INCREDIBLE in your new roles, and Graham will only flourish because of this. Big hugs, my friend!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Jumping in with both feet at Rhelda's Recipe.

meta

