Acceptance

April 28, 2011 § 3 Comments

There are many times in our lives when what you need to do isn’t really what you want to do.  Most of us suck it up and move forward with the need rather than the want; however, even though the “need” decision is made, it doesn’t mean it’s any easier if it isn’t what you “want”.  

I was googling around and found this quote by an American author and poet. She’s makes a good point…

“If you don’t like something, change it. If you can’t change it, change your attitude.” – Maya Angelou

Often, life is about acceptance.   Acceptance of need vs want.  Acceptance of loss vs gain.  Acceptance of love vs hate.   Acceptance is so much about releasing whatever it is that has a hold on you and allowing yourself to change your attitude.  To quit fighting it.  If you can do this, then you can release that negative energy into the universe.  The end result is a release which enable you to move forward to create a happier existence. 

So my goal today is acceptance of the inevitable.  To let what is to be – be, and in the end, may happiness abound.

Tagged: , , , , , ,

§ 3 Responses to Acceptance

  • Sue Estenson says:

    You know, I knew this, but needed the reminder. Thanks! This attitude also opens you up for all kinds of new joys you might not have otherwise had. I think of the tough things I have gone thru in the past and realize that if I did not have the experience than something positive that came later would not have been.

  • Trisha Fisher says:

    This brings a tear to my eye because it is so true. I think of acceptance all the time when I think of my daughters Bridgette & Scarlette. Even though through my circumstance I have provided comfort for many and found some great friendships. Thanks you for the dear post from the heart! Love you!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Acceptance at Rhelda's Recipe.

meta

