The Journey

May 4, 2011 § 2 Comments

I can remember as a young adult, coming “home” to visit my parents.  They always seemed concerned about me.  Many times they felt I was either too thin or appeared too stressed.  I needed to eat more or get more rest.   In actuality, they were probably right.   Life is rough and they could see it on me.   But the one thing I will always remembered about my visits to see them was their sense of pride.  They consistently made it clear how proud they were of me and the person I had become.  I didn’t realize it at the time, but the person I had become was the person they guided me to be.  Sure, we all have that internal drive that helps direct us into who we become, but I believe our true sense-of-self is shaped by those who have the most influence on us – our parents.   

With Mother’s Day quickly approaching, I have come to reflect on being a parent and what that means to me.  Before becoming a mother, I used to fear it.  The lifetime responsiblity of loving and caring for another human being seemed utterly overwhelming.  I seriously questioned myself and ability.  Could I do it?  Would I be a good role model?  Could I give a child what they need to be a happy, loving and productive person?  I didn’t know.  But this journey called motherhood, has given me so much perspective on who I am, where I’ve come from and where I’m going.  It has opened my eyes to the importance of knowing who you are.  With understanding yourself, you can accomplish anything.

As I think on my meer 6 years of being a mother, I find myself striving to give my son a good sense-of-self.  One that will carry him through the good and the bad.   Through my own realization, I understand my role as a parent isn’t to just make sure my son is fed, bathed and clothed.  Reaching adulthood in one piece is only part of the journey.  As a mother, my role is to guide my son on his journey to finding and feeling a good sense of himself.   This knowledge will make a difference for him throughout his life. 

I understand this won’t happen overnight.  This will be a journey.  It will probably be a long one at that, but his sense-of-self worth it.   Our journey is just beginning, but I do know one thing…I am already so proud of who he is and know that my pride will only continue to grow, one day at a time.

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to The Journey

  • Casey says:

    Rhelda,

    You have a way with words. I enjoy reading your blogs! You are a wonderful mother and a role model to us all. Keep up the good work =)

  • Tracy says:

    Amen sister! 🙂 And YOU are a WONDERFUL mother. You pour your heart and soul into mothering! xo

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Journey at Rhelda's Recipe.

meta

